clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Parma squad announced, Napoli without suspended Raul Albiol

Besides missing one defender for a yellow card accumulation suspension, Napoli have a standard squad to face Parma in the last Serie A match of 2014.

Marco Luzzani/Getty Images

Napoli are in dire need to stop the league form slide they're in. They've lost only one match recently, but that was preceded by three straight highly impressive draws. With last-place Parma in town, they have a good chance to get things back on track heading in to the winter break... if they can keep focused and not suffer yet another disappointing result in a match they should easily win.

They'll have to find that win without Raul Albiol, who misses out this match thanks to a suspension he picked up last weekend thanks to yellow card accumulation. That means Henrique is likely to step in to central defense alongside Kalidou Koulibaly, while Napoli fans hope that the Brazilian doesn't have one of his Bad Days.

Napoli have good news, though: Christian Maggio returns from his own yellow card suspension. It's a big boost for Napoli after he missed the AC Milan match, as while Giandomenico Mesto wasn't one of the culprits of Napoli's poor performance, he also didn't do much of anything to help make it better.

Still missing, of course, are Lorenzo Insigne, Camilo Zuniga, and Michu, all out with long-term injuries. It had initially been hoped that Zuniga would be back by now, but there's been no real news as to the progress of his recovery from yet another knee injury. Mysteries never cease with him.

The full 20-man squad available for Napoli to face Parma on Thursday is listed below for reference. One of these days, Rafa might actually name 23 men to his squad like he's allowed to. Probably not, but maybe.

Goalkeepers: Rafael Cabral, Mariano Andujar, Roberto Colombo

Defenders: Christian Maggio, Giandomenico Mesto, Miguel Britos, Kalidou Koulibaly, Henrique Buss, Faouzi Ghoulam

Midfielders: Josip Radosevic, Jorginho, Gokhan Inler, Walter Gargano, David Lopez, Jonathan De Guzman, Dries Mertens, Marek Hamsik

Forwards: Jose Callejon, Gonzalo Higuain, Duvan Zapata