clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colombia World Cup provisional roster announced, two Napoli players included

Manuel Queimadelos Alonso

Another day, another World Cup roster announced...and another two Napoli players making their way to Brazil. Camilo Zúñiga and Pablo Armero are on the 30-man provisional roster for Colombia.

José Pékerman must have a lot of faith in Napoli's left-backs. After all, Zúñiga hasn't featured for Napoli since October, when he started against Arsenal in the Champions League. He played about 20 minutes to close out the 5-2 victory over Sampdoria last week, but that's the first time he's been seen in seven months.

Meanwhile, Armero was shipped off to West Ham in January, possibly due to the fact that Napoli supporters were going to stick him in Vesuvius' caldera if they were forced to watch him start another match. In the second half of the season, Armero had exactly three starts and came off the bench twice.

Either Colombia really trusts these guys or, like Napoli prior to the arrival of Faouzi Ghoulam, Los Cafeteros simply don't have viable alternatives at left-back.

Pékerman is also hoping that Radamel Falcao will be able to make a miraculous recovery. The Monaco star is included in the squad, despite the serious knee injury he sustained last January.

Full Colombia Squad:

Goalkeepers: David Ospina (Nice), Faryd Mondragon (Deportivo Cali), Camilo Vargas (Independiente Santa Fe).

Defenders: Mario Yepes (AC Milan), Cristian Zapata (AC Milan), Pablo Armero (West Ham, on loan from Napoli), Camilo Zuniga (Napoli), Aquivaldo Mosquera (Club America), Santiago Arias (PSV Eindhoven), Luis Amaranto Perea (Cruz Azul), Eder Alvarez Balanta (River Plate), Carlos Valdes (San Lorenzo).

Midfielders: Fredy Guarin (Inter Milan), Juan Cuadrado (Fiorentina), Victor Ibarbo (Cagliari), James Rodriguez (Monaco), Abel Aguilar (Toulouse), Juan Fernando Quintero (Porto), Carlos Sanchez (Elche), Macnelly Torres (Al Shabab), Aldo Leao Ramirez (Morelia), Edwin Valencia (Fluminense), Alexander Mejia (Atletico Nacional), Elkin Soto (Mainz).

Forwards: Radamel Falcao (Monaco), Luis Fernando Muriel (Udinese), Jackson Martinez (Porto), Carlos Bacca (Sevilla), Adrian Ramos (Hertha Berlin), Teofilo Gutierrez (River Plate)